Posted by: Christine | June 10, 2010

It’s Matriculation Time

This post is borrowed from my semi-pro librarian blog called Smell the Ink.

This week, I made my first satisfying slices through red tape.  Like any respectable institution, Queens College has its fair share of interdepartmental twists and turns.  Considering the fact that I’ll be starting classes at the end of this month, I thought that a few weeks was cutting it close.  A friend of mine cut it even closer – a one week turnaround from acceptance to the first graduate class.  Regardless, I feel an inkling of gratification after this week’s worth of taking care of business:

  • Friday 6/4 – Acceptance. …and there was much rejoicing…
  • Wednesday 6/9 – On the phone with LIS department, advisement office, registrar, advisement, LIS.  Finally…Enrollment in my summer 701 course.  Google Calendar here I come!
  • Tuesday 6/6 – On the phone with IT, registrar, IT, registrar, IT, LIS department, made online payment (Ouch!), and on the phone with bursar.  And now…I’m an official MLS student!

It feels good to get back into the academic game and to learn again how to keep the momentum going.  The red tape wasn’t prohibitive; it was just enough to get the wheels turning in this old brain of mine.  Three cheers for library school!  Now I can become an ALA (and state) student member.

Tomorrow’s challenge:  my first Librarian Trainee job  interview.  Wish me good luck!

Responses

  1. Congratulations on getting through that and getting back in gear!

  2. Thank you, Rae! It’s only been a few years since I finished undergrad, but I’m excited to go back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

